Our mission

Felicia's 40B Predator Reef

Got a fun gif of the antennata for you guys.

mmdxj.gif

Wow your tank is beautiful! The lions look great with the movement of the corals behind them. I have no experience with predator tanks and when I saw you were making the switch I was wondering what would be so fun and fascinating about it. Now I see!

Wow your tank is beautiful! The lions look great with the movement of the corals behind them. I have no experience with predator tanks and when I saw you were making the switch I was wondering what would be so fun and fascinating about it. Now I see!
Thank you! The lions definitely look really cool in the mixed reef environment. I didn't have any experience with them myself, so I wasn't sure how it would go. I just needed to try something different and some of my favorite tanks at the public aquariums lately had been the lionfish tanks. The one at Monterey Bay Aquarium is especially stunning! They are definitely fascinating. Just such a different behavior and feeding is a lot of fun. The fact that they're so interactive with people is also really nice.

Did my weekly 10 gallon water change and other tank maintenance tonight. Before the water change, I tested the parameters, and here's what they were:

Alk: 9.9 (stable since last week after I adjusted it a bit higher, so no change in dosing)
Ca: 400 (finally where I'd like it to be, so no change in dosing)
Mg: 1140 (closer to where I'd like it but still not quite there, so I increased dosing by 2 mL per day)
PO4: 0.03
NO3: 10-25 (color was somewhere in between 10 and 25 on the chart, probably ~15)