Our mission

[January 16, 2016] Introduction to Aquarium Photography Workshop

Photography2.png

gears-png.2478
Information

• BAR will be hosting a introductory workshop on Aquarium Photography. The main goal of this event is to teach you what you need to know to take still shots of your aquarium.
  • This workshop will NOT cover fish photography since low light is often the limiting factor in aquarium.
  • This workshop is focused on hobbyists beginning to learn how to control color and take sharp photos using camera phones, point-n-shoot cameras, and DSLR cameras.
  • We will be taking pictures of corals in the frag tanks. Hands on learning!

Do Your Aquarium Pictures Look Like This?
auz412.jpg

No that isn't what it looks like in person. Let's try and fix the color and sharpness issues.

Your Guru:

Is me, Michael aka EnderTurtle. I have been playing with photography on and off for the past 7 years. I am in no way an expert or professional photographer but I feel that I'm fully qualified to teach a free class on introductory photography focusing on the aquarium environment to my favorite reef club.

Here are some of my sample pictures.

rics.jpg IMG_5050.jpg IMG_0967.jpg IMG_0996.jpg

Main topics
  • Understanding White Balance, Aperture, Shutterspeed, and ISO and how they affect color, sharpness, and depth of field.
  • Maximizing Photo Quality from a Camera Phone.
  • Tips for taking Better Pictures with your Point-And-Shoot Camera or DSLR Camera.
    • Overview of Common Equipment used in Aquarium Photography by hobbyists/vendors.
    • At the end I'll ask if you guys are interested in learning how to post-process RAW files.
My main goal is to teach you what you need to know to go home and take decent aquarium pictures.

I encourage you to bring your own cameras too and try techniques out as we learn them.

Schedule of Events

• 12:30PM Start Talking about Photography Basics and Camera Phones
  • We Go Take Pictures of Corals in the Frag Tanks