Cali Kid Corals

MH / LED usage in 2016

What is the PRIMARY source of light for your tank. So ignore secondary enhancements.

• Metal Halide

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • LED

Votes: 40 87.0%
  • T5

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • Other???

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

rygh

BOD
BOD
I thought LEDs were the "in thing" these days.
Yet I have noticed a fair number of people giving up on LED and going back to MH.
And MH + T5 is still for sale all over the place.

So I thought it might be a fun to create a thread on who is using what.

I'm thinking of maybe making a move make to halide, then maybe LEDs as the secondary source, I could put halides in a good reflector and get a lot of light coverage over a large area... actually maybe need to think about borrowing the clubs PAR meter again just to do some testing.

Tried all 3. I have been using T5 for over 5 years now, I am still using T5. If $ wasn't the problem, I would switch back to MH/T5 in a heart beat.

Tried all 3. I have been using T5 for over 5 years now, I am still using T5. If $ wasn't the problem, I would switch back to MH/T5 in a heart beat.

I am curious about the cost comment. I thought MH/T5 was roughly the same cost as T5 only.

Cost wise, I think MH add up due to the additional need for fan for evaporative cooling or running chiller. Both add up.

Also with T5, you can turn off different bulbs to get dawn/dusk effects. This also saves you a bit of power.

I am curious about the cost comment. I thought MH/T5 was roughly the same cost as T5 only.

I should have been a bit more specific. On my 36" tank, my MH/T5 light fixture has 2x150w MH plus 4x39w T5. My T5 only fixture had 6x39w T5. I agree, not a fair comparison.

I definitely think most of the people switching from LED to MH/T5 are looking to Maximize Acropora Growth/Coloration. I know a few oddballs using T5s to grow zoas but most of us zoa folks are using LEDs.

Some Store Information and their Light Set Ups and Approximate Coral Selection Percentages