Our mission

MH / LED usage in 2016

What is the PRIMARY source of light for your tank. So ignore secondary enhancements.

• Metal Halide

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • LED

Votes: 40 87.0%
  • T5

Votes: 3 6.5%
  • Other???

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters
This is such a tough subject....

I've been doing tanks for around 20 years now. I also started with PC lighting........it was ALL the rage!!!! ;) Had a pretty nice LPS and softie tank with it. This is in 1998 I believe. 75 gallon.

Went to T5/MH for another tank, and it grew very well.............WHEN I was keeping up on my water changes and maintenance.

Just like ALL my tanks, my problems always came/come from straight up neglect.......NOT lighting.

My current tank is ALL LED, and LOT's of them. I get great growth and color of my Acro's, Millie's, Montie's, Chalice, LPS, Stags, etc, etc......... WHEN I am being religious on upkeep. I get crappy growth and color when I am not. I know my kessils will grow the crap out of Acro's. Question is always.....can I do my part to let them?? (before the tank crash pics. I am working on post crash shots / video. It's doing very well again.)

Not in my tank anymore, killed by nudi's. :(

It's so easy to look at photo's and judge a tank based on lights. Healthy tanks have a lot of care and maintenance that keep a very stable environment. I think many are too quick to blame lighting. Just my $.02.

Yup, put the elbow grease and time into a tank and you'll probably get a nice tank. That said, Kris emphasized he has a LOT of LEDs over his tank, it's all about what you do with your lighting, if you have metal halide bulbs with a white painted canopy you obviously are not going to get anywhere close to the same results as someone with metal halides inside a Lumenarc (or whatever equivalent reflectors there are today)