Reef nutrition

Overflow help

Just upgraded to a 76 gallon from a biocube, it's been a long goal of mine and wanted to do everything the more quality way. Can anyone point me to the right direction to get a tank drilled? A glass is half a inch thick and would have to be drilled in the back, the bottom is tempered. I live in the Bay Area, I'm willing to pay if needed or is someone wants to build it for me. Looking forward to be a very active supportive member along the way, I see a lot of helpful folks in this community thanks in advance

Sent from my SM-G925T using Tapatalk

I bought the tank used for a really good deal on cl.... I was leaning towards bean animal overflow if i can get it drilled, I picked bean animal due to reading a lot of great thing number 1 being the most quite the tank is sitting in my living room as of now

I am new to salt water, drilled my 120 gallon tank last year for a bean animal. Wont do yours myself but u are welcome to come take a look.

Bought a "ghost" overflow box new on ebay with customized dimensions, about 24" wide. Works great.

I agree u need to figure out overflow box strategy first driven by your flow requirement and looks, then determine sizes of the box, pipes and then the holes on glass. The 10x of tank volume as ideal flow rate includes thise wavemakers, not just from return pump.

I ended up doing 3x 1" holes on glass (2 are overflow) and 1" main drain plus two 1.5" pipes for bean animal in the external box.

If I had to redo it again, I'd drill two returns instead of one, so i can use two cheap jebao dc pumps with no worry of failure.

Btw, if space allows, drill from inside tank toward outside surface, because exit surface is aways less clean than entry surface and inside surface privides the seal.

Last edited:
Thanks for the imput, I have a half circle, would it be better to put the overflow in the center or off to the corner?