Cali Kid Corals

First fish - pair of clowns?

WCKDVPR

Supporting Member
Hi All,

Our tank is cycling well (in the tank journal thread) and we are looking to get our first fish into TTM QT. I am new at this so something relatively easy to keep. Family is keen on a pair of clowns and someday something they will host in, if possible. From reading, getting more docile fish like the clowns would be a good place to start.

Thinking percula (or version thereof) or ocellaris. Thoughts on which may be easier to keep and more likely to host in something? Iffy on an anemone as at some point I don't want it roaming over the corals we will someday acquire.

Also, best place to get clowns - Derrick is out of fish for the next 6 months, so that is not an option. Neptune has a bunch of 1" or so standard ocellaris in one of their coral tanks. AC didn't have much last week (a few single designer clowns or mostly white ones, but nothing that would look to be paired up, other than black ones). Not looking for black or mostly white, though some variant of a typical percula/ocellaris (e.g. a bit more black) would be fine.

Thoughts/advice/input would be greatly appreciated, thanks!

Best regards,
Mike

I would make up your fish list and introduce them least aggressive to most aggressive.

AC usually has some nice clownfish. I would wait till you find what you are looking for. Depending on how picky you want to be, sometimes their clownfish have the usual captive bred deformities (pinched head, flared gill plates etc).

Neptune gets clownfish from SA quite frequently as well. And I'm sure either place will order you whatever type you want.

Robin @fingerwrinkles has been raising clowns for quite some time now, I know another fellow member in Alameda raises them as well but can't recall his handle right now.
If I had to make a choice, I think this time around I'd get a pair of skunk clowns but that's a different story...