Kessil

Calcium Reactor - Should I?

justjohno

Supporting Member
I'm of the thought of why fix it if its not broken, but this is my hobby - I dose calcium and alk now with mostly success, but I'm constantly having to fuss with my dosing pumps and calibrate. I would like to know of a Calc reactor brand that others are using. I'm looking at Reef Octopus dual chamber. I'm very new to a Reactor so I'm looking for:
  • Sturdy External not prone to leak
  • Ease of use
  • Solenoid?
If I make the choice to move this direction, I've learned not to DIY anything because it will discourage me. I will pay for reliability and proven solution.
Thanks for you feedback

I would agree that geo is the most recommended brand. It may not look the fanciest, but it is simple and reliable. Yes you should have a solenoid and a pH probe to shut down the reactor in case of malfunction or to keep the internal pH near a particular target. The most reliable way to run a carx these days is with a industrial peristaltic pump rated to run 24/7. You can do research on the different ways to setup a carx.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Very important to have a nice feed pump like gabe said. Also a nice co2 regulator is very inortsnt or else the flow of co2 will change as pressure in the tank(remaining gas) changes. Fiddling with bubble rates is for the birds !

Very important to have a nice feed pump like gabe said. Also a nice co2 regulator is very inortsnt or else the flow of co2 will change as pressure in the tank(remaining gas) changes. Fiddling with bubble rates is for the birds !

Good to know - Pressure in the tank will change bubble rate. Proper regulator will help with that? Thanks for the input Gablami and Death by SNU SNU