got ethical husbandry?

100DIY NEED HELP FOR PREDRILL

Hi Every1. Im just new to the hobby about 5 months. I originally bought the Topfin 55gl Kit. Now my wife is really into it and after seeing Bills tank we want to upgrade. I just bought a 100GL BlueOcean 49x22x24. It has one predrilled hole and would like to get another hole drilled for the return. The problem is I called glass company and none of them can help me. I live in Cupertino, If any of you know that can come to my house and drill it for me please give me the contact. I dont have anyone to help me carry the tank.

Drilling a tank is sort of easy, patience on the drilling process and running water.
Getting a diamond saw from e-bay pays for itself on the first time you use it, some people would charge you $20 to drill it. You can do the return like many, over the tank's rim.

Glass-holes.com has some excellent videos on how to drill glass. Here is a link: http://reefercentral.com/install.html. It is specific to their products, but the glass drilling part is the same no matter what.

I bought an entire overflow kit from them and successfully drilled 4 holes into my tank (after practicing on a $10 tank from Walmart first!). They also sell drill bits, but you can at least look at the pics to make sure you get the right kind elsewhere. You don't want teeth. You are actually grinding the hole in the glass, not cutting.

The key is to use NO PRESSURE. Let the weight of your drill do all the work. It will take a very long time, especially on 3/8" glass, which I assume yours is @ 100gal. It took me approx 1 hour per hole. It is also recommended that you use a drill with an adjustable clutch set to the lowest or most loose setting to avoid chipping or cracking the glass if your bit gets stuck. Constant water flow helps remove the glass and keep your bit cool, but you can also use standing water. Just keep it wet.

PS if anyone wants a 10 gal full of holes and cracked panes let me know :)