Jestersix

2 Part question, Vodka/Vinegar Dosing & Algae

Hi Gang,

So The first question I had is for those who dose vodka or vinegar, what is your experience like? I've been dosing vodka for several months now in my 40ish gal aquarium, I've reached a balance at 5ml/day and it seems that this is keeping my Nitrates at .15 & Phosphates are undetectable, this has caused all my softies to stop growing so I may end up cutting the dose down to strike a balance between the desires of my sps & softies...

I guess my question is if the results differ between vodka & vinegar? or are they essentially going to be the same.

My other question is algae, I have a few clusters of hair algae that don't quite grow at an insane rate (some areas of high flow I do have to trim & pluck) but for the most part it stays tamed, in one corner of the tank I've let an algae ball grow and it seems to be harboring a good amount of copepods & amphipods. Now how is this algae managing to grow (granted at a slow rate) when I have 0 phosphates & .15 nitrates? I've confirmed these measurements with 2 different test kits from different brands.

From experience my softies (and I had a lot!) stopped growing, stoped polyp extension, and started to decline when I introduced GFO to control PO4.... I had to cut back on the GFO and allow a small amount of PO4 to accumulate in the tank. Once that was done the softies responded by renewed growth and polyp extension.

The thing is I've never had PO4 in my tank, even before the vodka dosing. I started vodka dosing mainly to control nitrates and now I don't know how low to keep them in order to keep all the corals happy....

Maybe the PO4 you had was at an undetectable level for your test kit... don't know. But the reaction of my softies to the drop in PO4 in my tank was immediate and severe. After searching for some time I was able to find references on the net to others with the same experience.