Cali Kid Corals

48" 6 bulb aquatinics solarflare/ Good Price?

Hi guys I need a good T5 light for my standard 90. I'm going to see a guy that has a 6 bulb 48" aquatinics solarflare. He's selling it for $375 with some older bulbs. Is this a good light, is this a good price? I'm still a noob, so please help me out on this, good deal or should I pass?

He also said it's a VHO 85w (Icecap) instead of the standard 54w one.

so is $375 a good price for this unit?

I guess that means the bulbs will burn out faster, this should be plenty of light for a standard 90 gallon right?

Are there any know issues with this unit, IE starts fires, etc? This is a good brand to get right?

I think it good T5 fixture. It uses an icecap 660 on the 4 bulbs and 430 on the other 2 bulbs. But it will overdrive your bulbs, though. I think that is what he meant by 85w -- your T5 54w bulbs is overdriven to 85w.

It's a good quality fixture, made by Aquactinics; six T5 will be good enough for a 90 specially if over driven. As far as price, grab it !!

Saw it tonight, it looked fair, had more wear on it for only be used 3 months. My gut told me to pass on it. If it was in better condition I would have gotten it. But for almost $400 and the dents and dings in it, I should get a new one. That way I know where it's been and how old it is. I think I'll just save another $100 and for 400-500 I can get a quality T5 set up.

That being said maybe Tek 6x or if I can afford a ATI. The ATI is a bit more $$ not sure if they are worth the extra $$. What dod you guys think? Any better 6x bulbs 48" set ups I should consider?

3 months old shouldn't show any wear. If it is, it's older than that or the owner didn't take care their stuff. I think you made a right decision.

You can get a cheaper 6 bulbs T5 TEK fixture here for only $319.

http://www.plantlightinghydroponics.com/tek-light-324w-6500k-30000-lumens-4ft-t5-fluorescent-grow-light-p-1922.html