Apex Controller Experts ....

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by capescuba, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Is there any way to use the controller to manage a remote outlet? My controller is in my garage, watching my sump etc. But I'd like to also control my powerheads that are in my living room and not sure if there are any clever hacks to do this?

    Back in the day I was munging around with X10 devices ... do I need to resort back to them for this?
     
  2. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    372
    Not without running the aquabus cable to the other room.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  3. RandyC

    RandyC Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    571
    Easiest would be to buy another energy bar and connect via aquabus cable.
     
  4. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Crap - Seems like a miss to me, not to have something wireless. Time to figure out a hack then ....
     
  5. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
  6. RandyC

    RandyC Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    1,277
    Likes Received:
    571
    Is running a wire an issue for your setup? Seems you have plumbing through the wall, wouldn't think an extra cable would be all that much more work (if any).
     
  7. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    I guess not, just seems like overkill. All this technology and I still have to drill through my wall ....
     
  8. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    588
    Do you need them controlled? If not, you might want to take a look at a smart plug. You can integrate quite a few of them into say Alexa or GoogleHome if you have one of those devices or use the app otherwise.
     
  9. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Well I was hoping to use the feeding modes all around, I can kill the return/skimmer but also wanted to stop the powerheads for a period of time ....
     
  10. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,693
    Likes Received:
    588
    Hmm, you could probably do something like that with IFTTT, but I've got no real world experience with that.
     
  11. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    372
    Some one integrated fusion into and Alexa skill. Maybe give that a try.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     
  12. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    Google + IFTTT would be pretty cool I guess. "Ok Google: Feed my fish" .....
     
  13. Apon

    Apon Volunteer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,859
    Likes Received:
    213
    I have some new x10 around I think. LMK if you need them
     
  14. JVU

    JVU Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2017
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    291
    If you want it to be apex-controlled it’s a wire. But just run it through the holes you already made for water tubes, no?


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro
     
  15. capescuba

    capescuba Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,615
    Likes Received:
    71
    I made 4 holes for my water plumbing ... hesitant to run any more, but maybe that's the only way to do this "easily".
     
  16. scuzy

    scuzy Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    372
    The cables thin so just makes it a tad bit bigger


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
     

Share This Page