got ethical husbandry?

Apex, Standard or JR?

I'm not sure which one to get! I've never used one before so i don't know really how many modules I will need. Maybe someone can help. My upcoming tank specs;
30 gal IM Nuvo
Kessil 360w
Colbalt heater
IM Ghost skimmer
Sicce return
(maybe) Mp10 Qd

I want to dim the kessil on/off, auto top off with the apex, and control the temp on the heater. I will also want to control the mp10 if/when i get that in the future.
It doesn't seem like i have too many demands but I want to be sure I get what i need. Thanks for any tips!

Well you're off to a good start in trying to understand what demands you'll be wanting for your controller. The Jr. is by far severely limited though to 4 additional modules beyond what you get with the package. You get 4 power slots with it too so that will limit what you can plug in. By what you're saying though. The Kessil controlling will require a module, the top off can be done either automatically for a set period (1 power slot) or with some sort of sensor (1 power slot + 1 module), the heater will take 1 power slot (either control with Apex and let heater controller be failsafe or vice versa), and the Vortech pumps will require a module.

So it seems as if you'll have enough with the Jr, just not much wiggle room if you want to add additional stuff later, And it will cost a pretty penny (those additional modules really bump up the price of the Apex beyond the list price of the main unit package).

I think you can get away with the Jr. But after you add all that you need, might be better off with the standard.

The return and the heater can be plugged into the Jr, leaving you with only 2 more outlets. I like having the lights and the pumps on the EB8 as well, that way I can set a hard failsafe off at the power source.

The Kessil needs a VDM module for control. The standard already comes with 2 ports. Or you can get the Kessil Spectral controller and do it seperately.