High Tide Aquatics

Blurry background

I can only focus front or background. Why can't I focus both? Can you guys please help me out?

Here is a sample pic. :-[ .. I only resized the image and put it in a frame. Nothing else was adjusted.

Jesse.jpg

I thought it would always be like this, kind of like your eye. If you focus on something near, far will be blurry and vice versa. I am by no means a photographer, thats just my understanding

I'm still learning all this stuff myself, but as I understand it, whether the background is blurry or not is determined by your depth of field. The larger the apeture, the shallower the DOF is, and vice versa. You can get everything more in focus by increasing your DOF.

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/depth-of-field.htm

Background blur depends on a lot of things: lens used, perspective as seen through lens, subject to background distance, aperture, etc. Looking at the picture and the surroundings, you could probably stop down and gotten more of the background into focus.

[quote author=Natterjak link=topic=3131.msg34247#msg34247 date=1203397784]
I'm still learning all this stuff myself, but as I understand it, whether the background is blurry or not is determined by your depth of field. The larger the apeture, the shallower the DOF is, and vice versa. You can get everything more in focus by increasing your DOF.

http://www.cambridgeincolour.com/tutorials/depth-of-field.htm
[/quote]

Thanks Bonnie!! I will read the link..

Stop down basically refers to aperture. If you're shooting at f/2.8, stopping down means any smaller aperture, such as f/4 or f/5.6. You see it more often w/outdoor nature and macro photography, when they want a lot of depth of field. Most of the time, they don't even start until f/8 and they're often hugging the f/16 or f/22 (some guys stick to f/11 since that's when distortion shows up on the sensor).