Our mission

camera recommendation for newb

vivi

I have a depressing thought.....
I've realized that none of the pics i took are worthy. Maybe it's my skills, or maybe because i'm taking them from my NexusOne phone camera.

So, let's focus on the fact that it's the camera, it's not my skills. I am completely new to the whole DSLR business - only played with friend's DSLR for half a day. I kinda enjoy playing with antique SLR camera too. :-D

So, what DSLR camera do you guys recommend? I couldn't splurge too much on the camera, but also want to consider saving up enough for something decent (otherwise why bother!). Could someone recommend something in different price range (

I think your standard Canon P&S will do an adequate job for aquarium snapshots and pictures in general. Inexpensive at around $2-300 and is a huge upgrade from a phone camera! (Though, those have improved a lot) Can even get one that's waterproof which is a neat factor to play with.

If jumping into a DSLR - Nikon D50 or Canon Xsi are good entry level DSLRs. I think they're both around $550-600. Haven't looked in a while. Just remember that the camera itself is one thing...But the lenses are another ;) It adds up quickly!

i'm trying to steer away from standard P&S. To be honest, I've found my 5-year old sony P&S doesn't do any better than my cameraphone. That could be operator error, but isn't P&S suppose to be fool's proof?!

I've heard a lot about the Canon Xsi and am considering it. Btw, what is the general view on buying used camera? good or bad idea?

vivi said:
i'm trying to steer away from standard P&S. To be honest, I've found my 5-year old sony P&S doesn't do any better than my cameraphone. That could be operator error, but isn't P&S suppose to be fool's proof?!

I've heard a lot about the Canon Xsi and am considering it. Btw, what is the general view on buying used camera? good or bad idea?