Carbon and phosphate media how often u change?

Discussion in 'Other Reef Talk' started by xinumaster, Jun 3, 2008.

  1. xinumaster

    xinumaster Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    How often do you replace carbon and phosphate media? Can you specific which type of media you use (seachem matrix carbon, phosban, phosguard, rwaphos, ... etc.)?
     
  2. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    557
    Once a month; carbon (activated lignite) and phosphate media (granular size) from bulkreefsupply.
     
  3. xinumaster

    xinumaster Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    You change phosphate media once a month too? I thought they can last longer than that?
     
  4. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    Both depend on you PO4 and DOC load. They could be used up in a day if high enough, or last a year if low enough. You can't tell what your demand is going to be off of some one else's tank, you just can't.
     
  5. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    557
    I mix the two together so if the carbon goes, the gfo has to go as well.
     
  6. xinumaster

    xinumaster Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. Are you using a phosban reactor? If so, will adding carbon into the reactor one a month works, too?
     
  7. saltwatersig

    saltwatersig Volunteer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    2,098
    Likes Received:
    73
    i change my carbon 1 a week (i only use 3 table spoons each time) as for as rowa phos appx every 3 months.
     
  8. Raddogz

    Raddogz Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    I try to change out the carbon every three weeks but it winds up being closer to every five weeks.

    When I ran phosphate removers I would change out closer to five weeks
     
  9. Ibn

    Ibn Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    4,642
    Likes Received:
    557
    Running mine in a DIY reactor, which sits in the sump. I couldn't build two chambers in it, due to the height of the sump so I went w/one and stuck both in.
     
  10. seminolecpa

    seminolecpa Past President

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,506
    Likes Received:
    1
    I mix em together too. Probably change every 2nd water change so about every 3-4 weeks.
     
  11. tuberider

    tuberider Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,050
    Likes Received:
    4
    Phosban every month, I run Black Diamond carbon passively in my sump and change it about once a month too.

    I feed a lot so I use a little more than the gram per gallon on the gfo, more like 1.5g per gal.

    Gresham's right on though, it all depends on the system.
     
  12. xinumaster

    xinumaster Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    I change my rwaphos every 3mos cause verytime I messured my phosphate it always read 0ppm. Carbon I alway change it once a month.
     
  13. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    I change my carbon twice a month :)
     
  14. Gomer

    Gomer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,048
    Likes Received:
    1
    GFO, carbon? I guess I need them to change them :p
     
  15. MrManz1691

    MrManz1691 Guest

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    I never thought of mixing them. Its ok to open the bag of chemipure and mix it with the phosban that I use in my reactor?
     
  16. kinetic

    kinetic Webmaster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,162
    Likes Received:
    205
    I mix some black diamond carbon with TLF phosphate media in a TLF phosphate reactor, changing it out once a month. I put the carbon on the bottom half, and gfo on the top half (to keep it from being 'pulverized')
     
  17. xinumaster

    xinumaster Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,117
    Likes Received:
    0
    Welcome back, Art.
     
  18. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    I wouldn't. The stuff in Chemipure is a fairly small particle size.
     
  19. MrManz1691

    MrManz1691 Guest

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you think that chemipur is worth it or do u recomend a different brand of charcoal
     
  20. iani

    iani Guest

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,636
    Likes Received:
    27
    I just use bulkreefsupply carbon and gfo. I do the opposite of Art and put gfo on the botton and carbon on the top in a phosban reactor.
     

Share This Page