Our mission

Clownfish covered in white film layer

I noticed today my female clownfish- at least 6 yrs. old, has a white layer of something over her. It's not a bunch of white spots but like a film. The 2nd problem is she doesn't host anymore in the frogspawn nor go there to sleep. I can take a pic tomorrow but the film is covering 90% of her body.
Anyone know what this is and treatment?

Brookynella, or Velvet are the first two things that come to my mind, however I'm no pro with diagnosis. Just throwing in my two pennies.

If it's broklynella you'll need to act fast...I went through several clowns that had it.

The only treatment that worked for me (and I tried several) was a 20 min freshwater dip. Stablize(sp?) the temp of the dip water and use
IIRC 1/4 tsp baking soda per gallon for pH (got the formula from Jeremy). Don't forget to use a clorine nuetralizer or use RO/DI water.The clown didn't eat or really act normal for almost a week after the dip but it worked. She's still with us today!

Good Luck

-Gregory

FW dip and/or formalin dip. You can also use a drop or few of kalk to adjust pH FYI.
6yrs huh? Must of picked it up from something new?
Pic?

BTW - If it is brooklynella the clown will not be able to go back into the infected tank. If there are no other fish in there the life cycle of the protozoan and longevity is 8 weeks. After that fish can be re-introduced. If there are other fish in there I'm not sure how virulent the protozoan is with other species, however, clowns and angels are mega susceptible. If there are other fish I don’t know if they can be carriers and survive (Typhoid Mary) or if the protozoan dies out.

There is a tank treatment using IIRC 3% formaldehyde, but I’m unsure the effect on inverts, your bacteria population, or whether 100% effective. I do have a bottle from that period of treatment I never used that you’re welcome to if you wish. Hopefully someone will chime in on the effects of this treatment on an established tank.