Kessil

Couple of night shots from SF...

Hello all Took a couple of pictures last night.. Tried to get the whole running water effect.. Kinda what I had in mind.. I'd like to be able to smooth it out a little more..

3269098950_44e7dba8c7_b.jpg

3268245595_27d2f24b7b_b.jpg

im a newbie so dont get mad at me when i ask but....did you use HDR on the first photo? regardless, i love these photos :D

I ca n't hold the remote and count consistently enough

I need to get a stop watch or something.. Anything over 30 seconds I have to shoot in bulb right? THen hold the shutter for as long as I want it to be open?

hmm, so I'm guessing it was too bright? if you go over 8 seconds or so, you rwater should look smoother and smoother.

at 30 seconds you should be getting "fog" instead of water. Over 30 seconds, it needs to be pitch black really...

[quote author=fishnfst link=topic=6286.msg80228#msg80228 date=1234330986]

I need to get a stop watch or something.. Anything over 30 seconds I have to shoot in bulb right? THen hold the shutter for as long as I want it to be open?
[/quote]

Yeah dude are you sure it was 30 seconds? Not 3 seconds. haha. Even 3 at three seconds it should look smoother.

[quote author=iani link=topic=6286.msg84849#msg84849 date=1235695916]
[quote author=fishnfst link=topic=6286.msg80228#msg80228 date=1234330986]

[/quote]

Yeah dude are you sure it was 30 seconds? Not 3 seconds. haha. Even 3 at three seconds it should look smoother.
[/quote]

Yes Ian the exif data states that my first shot the one that Eileen and Moo were asking for information on was indeed 30 seconds..

doesn't look like the exif data shows the shutter speed.

Was it 1/30th of a second? Shows up as 1/30 sec. we're not doubting you, it's just amazing you could shoot at 30 seconds and not get the whole city blown out.

The exif is correct on the first one posted.. The second picture is iso 200 50mm f/16 5 seconds...

The first picture is as stated...