High Tide Aquatics

DBTC - Rare Nepthea

Hey guys. This is my first time posting on the BAR forum at all, so bear with me. What brings me to post is that I just has Bob from AAF over, and I was asking him about some of the corals in my tank. (For example, "Bob, what kind of hairy mushroom is this?" Bob: "Green hairy mushroom." And so on.) I was looking for cool names, I guess.

Anyway, I asked him about this one coral that I thought might be a kenya tree, and he says it's a rare green nepthea. Rare because the mother colony in the philipines (I think) overheated during the summer and just melted away. So there's not much left of it in the world.

So my first instinct, in the mindset of preserving the reefs, pushing captive propogation, and all that other jazz, is to pass frags off to people who know what they're doing. I'm lucky it has lasted this long, but I'd like to diversify it a bit. If there's ANY basket that all of some corals eggs should be in, it's not mine!

So I don't know where I got it or if there's any interest in it, but BAR DBTC is the first place I thought I should go with it.

So...now what? Do I wait for interest? Is there someone who is better with fragging that can frag it for me?

Thanks,
Tom

Sure thing. I'm not going to frag it today, but when I do you'll get one. Bob said it was hard to frag because it is so slimey. So I need to read about it for a bit first.

Nice one, Tom :D

You can lightly pinch a branch of it between 2 pieces of rubble. Use a rubber band.

After the coral attaches, you can snip it off below the rocks.

[quote author=Elite link=topic=2982.msg32036#msg32036 date=1202495492]
I would like to see some pics 8) ..
[/quote]

Here is one, does that work for you LOL :) just messing with you
DFtD.jpg

From Gresham: