Cali Kid Corals

DC pump good/bad?

Most of the "good price" DC pumps are virtually identical, except for some lipstick and makeup differences, they're all pumped out of the same factories, they have the same components, you'll be good with just about any. Speedwave, waveline, diablo, all the same.

I have been using a Jaebo DC6000 for a few months now. Works great. Low power, quiet.
BUT....
For both Jaebo and Waveline, do not expect much of any customer service.
The power supply is cheap.
If I switch to more DC pumps (likely), I will also get a nice 24V supply to replace them.

Make sure you get the GEN2 pumps, and gen2 controllers.
DC6000, not DC5000 for example.

Note that the Red Dragon DC pumps are not the same as the other 3. Made in Germany, very expensive.

Note that the Red Dragon DC pumps are not the same as the other 3. Made in Germany, very expensive.
Which is why I said the "good priced" ones are all clones. Red Dragon is far from being a "good price', I think they make Vortechs look not so expensive by comparison :D

Yeah, but the red dragon has some sort of extended housing with a propeller attachment.
So you can do a closed loop design at 26,000 GPH. :eek:
Fun stuff.
Until they get recalled again....

Side note:
These (regular) DC pumps do not have real NPT fittings. There is no taper.
So for external use with pipe fittings, expect to need to silicone it in or it will leak.

I picked up a Jaebo DC 3000 to use as a return pump. IF it lasts, it's fantastic. If it's crap, then that sucks. But it is QUIET and it is adjustable. If it's durable, then it's the best thing ever. Uses like I dunno 30W, versus 80W for my current return pump.

Seriously, if these are durable, then they are completely worth it. I might get one as a skimmer pump as well, since my current skimmer pump (Mag5) uses 50W.