Freshwater (gasp) Betta Tank

Discussion in 'Tank Journals' started by kinetic, Aug 9, 2017.

1. kinetic

kinetic Webmaster

Tank: AquaMaxx 2.6g Low Iron Tank

I've been out of the hobby for awhile. It was a downward spiral, with an Elos 170 and spending a lot on a lot of premium gear. Overall, everything was dying. This $10k system did far worse than my $200 total AIO 20 gallon tank. So I had quit.

I can't stop thinking about putting another tank together. My next one will come soon, but in the meantime, I put together a pretty minimal tank for a Betta fish. I might make it into a planted tank soon.

I've been running a tiny HOB filter for a couple months now, but I'm waiting on some glass lily pipes and a canister filter to pretty it all up before taking photos of it. I've struggled finding a good canister filter that's small enough, so I'm planning on putting a flow valve and cranking that thing way back.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Ashalye and iCon like this.
  2. JVU

JVU Supporting Member

Nice photography!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

3. kinetic

kinetic Webmaster

Thanks! Mostly just good white balance editing to get it all right, and a quick edit on the Priime app.

4. Wlachnit

Wlachnit Supporting Member

Wow...that looks like a Polaroid One step.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

5. kinetic

kinetic Webmaster

It is! I need to get better with using it though. I've been mostly shooting instant film with a Lomography camera: https://microsites.lomography.com/lomo-instant-wide-camera/ which has a little control of focus and all that.

6. Ibn

Ibn Supporting Member

Welcome back, Art!

Take a look at the Eden 501 for a smaller canister that works with 9mm glass lily pipes. If you want a bit more flow, then take a look at the Eheim 2011 and run additional tubing on it to keep the flow manageable. Otherwise, in tank wise, take a look at the Eheim 2008 or the Eheim Skim350.

7. kinetic

kinetic Webmaster

Thanks Eric!