---Help--- psk-2500 skimmer pump replacement???

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by molabecirovic, Feb 15, 2013.

  1. molabecirovic

    molabecirovic Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi all

    I am running 2 sicce psk 2500 on my skimmer and just noticed that in one of them the wire striped where it enters the pump(AS you can see in the picture). The pump still works just fine as the wires inside are still fine but I am afraid to submerge it so I am thinking on replacing the pump.
    When I got the pumps they where the best you can get but don't know if is still the case, should I replace it with the same as I can get one for under $100 or is there something better in the market these days? I can run my skimmer with one or two pump configuration so I am open to a single oversize pump or two smaller ones as I still have a good sicce 2500 left??

    Thanks in advance

    Attached files /attachments/sites/default/files/IMG_0521.jpg
     
  2. JAR

    JAR Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    3,964
    Likes Received:
    103
    Heck, I don't see copper yet :D
    I heard Bubble Blaster is the new best thing.
    There may be a retrofit for that skimmer.
     
  3. robert4025

    robert4025 Sponsor

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,824
    Likes Received:
    193
    Bubble blaster is okay. A bit noisy, screws tend to rust, and plastic become very brittle at about 2 year old. I like Sicce (with the exception of the old PSK 2500...not enough torque) Syncra line a lot. Super quiet and amazing warranty.
     
  4. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    719
    Yes, what is it with those screws. Mine are rusting also. Grrr.
    (I am otherwise happy though)
     
  5. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,843
    Likes Received:
    1,029
    What kind of skimmer is it? If both pumps are feeding air and water into the skimmer from the sump you're kind of stuck with two. You probably could rig up some system where you block the other inlet hole and it may work in the short term... but then again it might not make enough bubbles to bring your foam level up high enough.

    Not to mention the skimmer I'm guessing is designed for two pumps, so even if you do get away with one pump, you're not going to get the same effectiveness out of it.
     
  6. molabecirovic

    molabecirovic Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    The skimmer has been running on a one pump configuration for few days now an its been doing pretty good for now. I'm still in the market for a second pump as I want to make sure I maximize the performance f the skimmer, so far I am leaning towards the sicce syncra silent as it looks like Neptune caries them and they seem to be suitable for use on a skimmer. The psk-6000 seems to be a good alternative too ...

    Here is a quick video of my skimmer.

    http://youtu.be/iZgYWgyclqI
     
  7. molabecirovic

    molabecirovic Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5

    The skimmer is a Gray Seas Aquatics GS2 skimmer now known as AVAST marine. Its made with two inlets but can be run with one or two pumps, just cap the second inlet if not in use. It does change the rating of the skimmer once you change the number of pumps, I believe it was 200g of heavy bio-load with one pump and 300g of heavy bio-load with two pumps.
     
  8. molabecirovic

    molabecirovic Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Likes Received:
    5
    yeah I know run it till I get shocked LOL
     
  9. Kmooresf

    Kmooresf Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    428
    Great video, thanks for showing it off. Looks like a nice system. Now to see the tank it's attatched to? :D

    Very cool Mod!
     
  10. MyReefMonkey

    MyReefMonkey Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2013
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    The screws get rusty because your GFO media was released into the tank. Stainless steel screws get gunked up when GFO is released into the tank.
     
  11. BAYMAC

    BAYMAC Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    104
    Huh... so all my rusted SS with out any GFO is caused by what then? Sorry, SS rusts, no GFO or GFO.
     
  12. rygh

    rygh Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2010
    Messages:
    4,471
    Likes Received:
    719
    The idea is that iron in the water from GFO tends to be deposited on stainless steel.
    Rust from an external source. Which is technically different.
    That said, yes, stainless can rust as well.
    So both correct.
     
  13. BAYMAC

    BAYMAC Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2012
    Messages:
    1,084
    Likes Received:
    104
    Yes, basic stuff that I learned in elementary school :lol:

    Very little iron is released from GFO, nonissue. Cheap SS used in aquaria is usually the issue.
     

Share This Page