Our mission

Help with leaky plumbing

Hi guys,
I have a problem, I have connections that leak. I hired a aquarium installer to design and install my plumbing. He installed it, but it had 5 leaks. 2 of them he fixed with, Reef puddy, Superglue, and an acrylic weld glue.

One of the welded seams is still leaking, and another reducer and the collar on the pump is leaking.

My question is what is the best way to fix these leaks? Is there a preferred method for repairing these leaks? I was hoping the installer would fix them, but his position is that I need to pay more for him to come back out and fix it. I don;t want to get into a bashing session, I just need the tank fixed so I can use it. And I am by no means an expert on this.. thats why I hired someone who had a good reputation.

8445573134_654ce4d731_b.jpg

8445573258_a70dd15296.jpg

Isn't there some blue stuff that plumbers use to seal these kind of things? I think it's called pipe thread compound? Is there a ton of pressure going through those points causing them to leak?

I have heard you can create a "vacuum" (negative pressure) and put PVC cement/glue around the joint to get it to SUCK into the hole/leaks.
This might help plug up the leak correctly with PVC bonding cement.

The problem is you'd have to plug up all the other outlets.

Remember, the hole needs to be dry for cement to bond properly. So you may need to run the vacuum a bit to dry out the hole (and/or apply a hair dryer GENTLY near the area to help accelerate evaporation).

You could try to use plumbers putty (my guess similar to Reef Puddy), but it just helps "wrap around" the pipe and not really solve the actual "leaking hole" issue.
Superglue is too brittle, it'll crack off over time. And acrylic weld wouldn't seem like it would help since you're bonding PVC pipes.

My opinion would be to sand it (80 grit) down to bare PVC, make sure it is clean and DRY,
then liberally coat it with a good quality two part 10 minute epoxy.