got ethical husbandry?

Help with what I think is cyano

Hello everyone. I am in need of some help/advise. I am about at my wits end with this stuff and am considering taking down my tank if I cant resolve it. I have been battling with what I believe is cyano for the last four months. Its a red slime with bubbles in it that covers most of my substrate and is now creeping up my rocks. I have done weekly water changes where I manually remove it, I have a 5 stage rodi system and the tds meter reads 0 after the final stage. I've completely blacked out my tank for 72 hours, which helps but it is back within a day. I use a redsea test kit for nitrates and phosphates and they are always low. I purchased a Hanna phosphate meter just to double check and it is always below .02ppm. I have an auto feeder set for once a day on the lowest setting and the fish usually eat most of it. The tank has been set up for almost a year now.

Here is my equipment:
90 gal tank, eshopps r200 refugium, bubble magus skimmer, 2 mp40s, 2 kessil 360s, brs 2 stage phos/carbon reactor

Livestock:
5 blue reef chromis, 1 yellow tang, 2 clowns, 1 wrasse, 2 zoa colonys, 1 frogspawn and 1 acro

Water chemistry as of today:
temp: 76.5
PH: 8.07
salinity: 1.023
Nitrate: 0.25 ppm
Phosphate: 0.02 ppm
Mag: 1280 ppm
Cal: 375 ppm
Alk: 8.96 dkh

I think I covered everything. I would really appreciate any input you guys may have.

Attachments

• IMG_1515.JPG
    IMG_1515.JPG
    61.4 KB · Views: 267
  • IMG_1516.JPG
    IMG_1516.JPG
    65.2 KB · Views: 252
1) Do you have enough flow? Cyanobacteria thrives in low flow areas.
  • It sounds like your nutrients are under control (maybe)
  • I dont think the kessils are shifting light spectrums, promoting cyano growth.
  • Your calcium is a little low but that is another topic.

Personally I would hit it with Boyd Chemiclean at this point. Pick it up at any local fish store and save money on shipping.