how did you decide on your username

Discussion in 'Welcome!' started by Roc, May 19, 2016.

1. Roc

Roc Guest

I was wondering how ppl came up with their user names

Mine is what i was refereed to for years before starting a reef tank, during my days as a Rapper, DJ and Producer.

Follow up question, is it weird for you to be called that name in public or at events?

Since I was known as Roc for years, its actually common for ppl to call me that.

2. Bruce Spiegelman

Bruce Spiegelman Supporting Member

It's my name. And yes it's weird to be called that in public . I usually just get shithead.

3. roostertech

roostertech reef noob

I'm born the year of the rooster and I work in tech. I use the same for my personal domain/blog and forum nicks.

I would go by my actual name in person not the nick lol.

4. coral4me

coral4me Supporting Member

Wasn't sure how to come up with a name. I'm not even good at naming my fish. :p

I decided to see if the forum would accept some non-alphanumeric characters so I could incorporate an instant message symbol in my screen name and it took it.

So I become <3-2-reef (love-two-reef). Some people don't get the connection and just drop the "<" symbol, so I now also respond to three-two-reef at BAR functions as well.

5. HiFidelity

HiFidelity Guest

Easy, my name's Fidel and I spend far more on my audio equipment than I do on my fishtank so it's HiFidelity wherever I can be the first to have it :D
    Pretty sure everyone's heard of "Hi-Fi"

coral4me likes this.
  6. Enderturtle

Enderturtle Volunteer

Ender is a character from the Ender's Game series.

Turtles because I use to like turtles :p

7. Vincerama2

Vincerama2 Evil Overlord

Vincerama2 because

1) I liked Futurama
    2) I signed up as Vincerama on Reef Central years ago, then forgot my password right after I signed up and had to create a new user name, and I just brought it along to the club forums.

8. Vincerama2

Vincerama2 Evil Overlord