Jestersix

How long is your photoperiod?

I'm NOT an expert, but I keep my total light time at about 9-10 hours for the "sunrise / sunset" lights and about 6 hours for the MH / primary lighting. No idea if that is right, just what I have always done. ;)

I think I have 6 hours or so with halides, then 10 hours with T5s...

If I was running LEDs, probably 6-7 hours with whites, then 12 with blues.

3 hrs on my single Kessil, then 4.5 on my halides, back to 2.5 on the led. I've shortened my halide duration a half hour recently but who knows???

Odd man out running plasmas, but I run a 90 minute ramp up sunrise, 9 hours on, then 90 minute dimming sunset- total 12 hours on time.

bumped up to 7 hours MH. Used to run at 5 hours when I also ran PC's before and after. Now its on for 7 and no longer.

I am running 4 tube T5 HO in two zones. Blue zone is on 8.5 hours a day and white zone is 6 hours through mid-day. This time of year (low sun angle) my tank gets mild afternoon sun which spurs algae growth so I cut back white light by 30 minutes. White light favours algae, blue light favours coral.

Mmmm plasma. Anything new in plasma? This reefbuilders post is the one everyone points to but it's now a couple of years old. Any reviews of plasma that celebrate or condemn it's performance for reef aquaria?

bondolo said:
I am running 4 tube T5 HO in two zones. Blue zone is on 8.5 hours a day and white zone is 6 hours through mid-day. This time of year (low sun angle) my tank gets mild afternoon sun which spurs algae growth so I cut back white light by 30 minutes. White light favours algae, blue light favours coral.

Mmmm plasma. Anything new in plasma? This reefbuilders post is the one everyone points to but it's now a couple of years old. Any reviews of plasma that celebrate or condemn it's performance for reef aquaria?