Kessil

Howdy!

WCKDVPR

Supporting Member
Just signed up, hello everyone!

I am new to the hobby but have been researching a reef tank for many months now on the various forums/sites/etc. Looking to get to know some of the locals, bounce ideas off around, and make some new friends.

Planning on ordering up my reef tank setup in the very near future. I'll need everything, so it is going to be a whole lot of fun. I think am pretty much down to the lighting and trying to make some decisions there as the lighting budget is likely going to impact the final tank size decision.

Looking at either a 120g (48x24x24) or a 150g (60x24x24) and trying to figure out the best way to light either tank. Original plan is soft corals, clowns, shrimp, and some compatible others. However, I would like the capability to move up to some hard corals at some point, so trying to keep that in mind with the light purchase. I am also planning on using an Apex controller so it would be most preferable to have lighting that is controllable by the Apex.

Of course, still battling the LED vs T5 choice (a hybrid for this size is out of the budget - at least a new one). Lighting budget needs to stay under $1300. I would consider something that works for the original inhabitants and then add a supplemental light later for hard corals. Thinking a 48" or maybe a 60" T5, or something like 3 Kessil A360's or a pair of Hydra 52s. Worried about shadowing on the LEDs. Help please!

FYI - family is avid scuba divers, so we all would like this to look as natural as possible.

This is the current plan for the bigger stuff at this point - I would appreciate any input, thanks.
Crystal Dynamics 120g or 150g tank, Starfire, synergy ghost, and stand
Trigger Emerald 39 sump or maybe move up a size if going with the 150g
Super Reef Octopus 3000INT skimmer
Snycra silent 5.0 return pump
Tunze 3155 ATO
Apex controller with 2 WAV powerheads
(2) Finnex 500W heaters

Lighting.............?????????

Also, any input on