High Tide Aquatics

http://straylightoptical.com/

Anyone purchased a plasma light from these guys yet? If so what do you think? Can the Plasma light hit a deep blue color as well as a daylight spectrum?

Are they worth the $$. I'm basically thinking plasma mains and LED accents. Instead of the norm MH & T5 type set ups.

While I have zero experience with plasma lighting, from everything I've read you only get the blue when you crank the intensity down extremely low

I've been running a pair on my 150 for over a year. At 50% they are a nice 14k, and you can grow plenty - see my build thread. Not bad in heat output and a single 4 ft Reefbrite blue gives me all the blue fix I need.customer service has bee great and I love my plasmas! Nice that I can adjust the intensity on them too. At full power they put out a ton of light.

Well so far what I've read I like. Found your tread. Down here energy costs are through the roof, so if these put out more light per Watt thats what I'm after.

Hows the heat output on them? Are they better or worse in heating up the tank? Thats a big problem here. Since we're normally 90+ outside 6 months of the year. Ideally I want to get around having to have a chiller cool down the tank. The lights would be about as high as yours, about 1'5" above the tank. And my tank is 28" tall. You think it'll heat up the water alot?

I don't run a chilller and the tank stays around 80 degrees (I do use a fan over my sump, to keep air moving under the stand and it helps cool the tank I'm sure). Mine are 16 inches over the tank and I really don't see any heat issues at all - they really do not move the temp when they come on. No chiller on the 150 and it does fine.

Hear you on high energy, SCE sucks big time! Looking at solar to see if we can beat the system...