If we had a club library?

Discussion in 'Wouldn't it be good if...?' started by r0ck0, Jul 19, 2010.

1. r0ck0

r0ck0 Guest

I have some books I would be willing to donate to the club to start a library. I would also be willing to be in charge of managing the library and finding new books. Finding donors, publishers, authors that would be able to contribute to the collection. It would also be nice if we had DVDs, I don't know of any right now but will look into that as well.

Honestly I have zero experience managing a library for a club so I will be wide open to suggestions. I thought it could be similar to DBTC where we have a thread for a book and can track who has it out the same way we track frags and their status. I would bring the book to the meeting and the borrower can keep it until another person requests it or return it at the next meeting when they are done.

Tonight I will post a list of books that I can lend or donate to the library. I also saw some good books at recycled books, a used book store, that I will probably be purchasing and would put those up for the library as well.

2. GDawson

GDawson Guest

Nice idea, but prolly not very practical. I don't now.......storage and mobility issues.......

Perhaps people could publish lists of books they have and don't mind sharing either at meetings (for the day only) or in their home.

-Gregory

3. GDawson

GDawson Guest

FWIW - if this gets green lighted I have several dozen AFMs that I was going to see if anyone wanted that could be donated instead.

-Gregory

4. seminolecpa

seminolecpa Past President

Like the idea Greg but concur with Gregory. The issue is going to be storage and management whih is already an issue with just our basic supplies. Speaking as the club storage unit and pack mule, I don't think I can handle storing much more at my place. The issue isn't so much the space as it is remembering to bring it all to the meetings.

5. GDawson

GDawson Guest