Neptune Aquatics

Jeff's 40 SPS Tank

I’m very happy to say that I’m putting together another tank. I’ve been enjoying my little 6g nano for the last several months but I’m ready to start growing SPS again and getting more active in the community! I just got the thumbs up to set up the tank at my office in San Jose and have started to pull the pieces together. I’ll be doing a 40g breeder BB display with 40g sump/fuge. The tank will be for SPS and select LPS. Fish livestock will be very minimal if any. I have about 200 pounds of nice liverock that’s been taking a bath these last several months that I’ll pull from for some spartan aquascaping to allow for lots of coral growth. I’ve been doing monthly water changes on the rock since I took down my main system back in May and it has maintained some nice color even chilling in tubs in my spare room with little light and lots of flow.

Right now I’m putting much thought into the aquascaping. Coming to a final decision on what I want will probably be the most time consuming piece of this project here initially.

I do plan on building a custom canopy to house my lighting system for a nice clean match to my office furniture. Nothing very fancy but nice and clean… I have some beautiful black oak that I plained out of a tree that I cut down awhile back that I’ll probably use for it.

Here’s the equipment I currently have in hand that I’ll likely be using for this build.

Tanks

40g Breeder Tank 36”Lx18”Wx16”T Display
40g Breeder Tank 36”Lx18”Wx16”T DIY Sump/Refugium.
5g - ATO Reservoir

Filtration

ASM G-3 Protein Skimmer w/ Sedra 5000 Pump
3 x Two Little Fishies Phosban Reactor 150
Korallin Calcium Reactor 3002 w/ Dual Guage CO2 Regulator Deluxe and 10 lbs CO2 tank
15W UV Sterilizer for TECO SeaChill Chiller

Temperature/Levels controls and Monitors

1/3HP TECO SeaChill Chiller TR20
2 x ViaAqua VA300T 300W Titanium Heaters – Placed in Sump
Reef Fanatic Level Control Kit ATO
RKE v2 w/ Net Module

Flow