Kessil

LED team build

Anyone interested in working on an LED set up together? I am not experienced enough with the soldering on the wires to jump in solo. I am thinking whoever is in we all work on building a light for each person. Each buys all the parts supplies for their light. We could then share cost of tools, or borrow tools to complete the build.

Meet at my place or a place central to the group. This could be a three light unit for a test refugium light, or the 8-10 light unit I am considering, or larger for larger tanks.

Benefits include getting to know a couple other member tanks better. And getting over the procrastination hump, though there will be a committee effect that could slow down the progress. My plan it to make it encouragement. Also to get a couple of these lights going in the club to start a test to see how they function for growth.

Looking at possible three meetings. One to plan each system and make parts list. The next to build after all the parts are in, and a third to complete the build if needed.

Not sure what you are asking Gresham. I have been reading up threads on RC and Nano sights. As well as the thread Tony and others have going here. There are local suppliers of parts. I am looking to upgrade PC. The tank is 24" deep and about that wide. I have not seen a DIY LED in person nor talked with anyone about theirs pros/cons. I am looking at a non dimming set for starters.

What next step would you recommend?

Richard, Tonggao is making one for his frag tank. He said he will take pictures and everything. He made one before and it came out good. You know it's not cheap to make one right??

Sounds like a good impromptu non-club sponsored DIY type event.

I've considered LEDs, but IMO while they may be cost effective in the long term, I don't like the upfront costs of them.