Neptune Aquatics

Looking to Add GFO to my tank.

Marc

Hey All its been a while!

I'm looking to add GFO to my tank. I'd like to lower the phosphates in my tank since I feed heavily. I wanted to get some feed back from people who have more experience than me.

Bouncing a couple ideas around.

1. "tee" off my return pump to feed the reactor

or

2. Get a unit with already a pump.

Please I'm a newbie with this equipment so point out the obvious as well. One thing I do know is, GFO media should not move around like bio pellets...

BTW any good recommendation on a brand of GFO reactor. One that can hang in my sump next to the skimmer would be nice.
file_zps82d680ca.jpg

I personally like using a separate pump, since I can control it with my controller. Turning it off and on with my phone allows for some flexibility.

I use the BRS setup, but there are probably much better ones out there. I am also trying to switch from using BRS's GFO media, since it's very powdery compared to other brands.

Looks like you don't have a lot of space

I personally like using a separate pump, since I can control it with my controller. Turning it off and on with my phone allows for some flexibility.

I use the BRS setup, but there are probably much better ones out there. I am also trying to switch from using BRS's GFO media, since it's very powdery compared to other brands.

Looks like you don't have a lot of space
Yep definitely not much space to work with!

Any thoughts on keeping the GFO in a media bag?

I think that is a good solution. I think having gfo in a bag isn't going to work all that great.

You'll find those phosban reactors used for cheap on reef central.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Don't get the phosban reactors. They suck. Cheap plastic parts and its hard to change the media.