got ethical husbandry?

Macro Algae Ban (not just 9 species of Caulerpa)

I was at All About Fish in Concord yesterday trying to pick up a ball of Cheato and the owner said he could no longer import this or any macro algae from out-of-state. He said there is a new law banning the importation of all macro algae. Can anyone confirm this? I have not seen this story run anywhere. I do know about the 9 species of Caulerpa banned (www.sccat.net), but he stated ALL macro algae. He said it's OK to buy, sell, and posses, but that it cannot be imported.

Well I just checked the latest copy of the Fish and Game Code so let me see if I can cover this. Please note, I am not a lawyer or a warden, just a biologist. There is one code that pertains to importation of aquatic plants and animals, and hobbiests are exempt. I have also included the code regarding caulerpa. I couldn't find anything else that would apply to importation of algae. I checked with a wildlife management co-worker who also happens to be a reefer and she hadn't heard anything about that. She did suggest that perhaps the supplier can not guarantee their cheato doesn't have caulerpa mixed in, or perhaps they just don't want to deal with shipping macro algae to California because they don't know the codes and don't want to risk it. Hopefully All About Fish can share where they obtained this information from, and I'll see if I can find out more from anyone else.

CA FISH & GAME CODE DIVISION 3,
Chapter 3. Importation and Transportation of Live Plants and Animals
Article 3. Aquatic Plants and Animals

2271. (a) No live aquatic plant or animal may be imported into this state without the prior written approval of the department pursuant to regulations adopted by the commission. A written application for the importation, submitted in conformance with the procedural requirements established by the commission, is deemed approved where it has not been denied within 60 days.