My New 125 gallons Tank

Discussion in 'Tank Journals' started by SamHa, Jul 27, 2017.

  1. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    Hi Guys,

    Just wanted to share my aquarium setup with you. It is 125 gallons 6 feet long.
    My Sump is 40 gallons and I have a Skimz Monzter sm163 inside of that. I am trying to grow cheato there as well
    But after a week or two I do not see that growing anymore. Actually I think it happened after diatom bloom I guess. Before getting my Filter Guys RO/DI water system I guess my water quality was bad and that happened. I got some snail inside the sump to get ride of that and it helped but still my cheato does not look growing.
    Here I uploaded few pictures of my system.
     

    Attached Files:

    Newjack likes this.
  2. Newjack

    Newjack Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2015
    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    222
    nice looking set up
     
    SamHa likes this.
  3. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thank you very much! I wish I was that expert to go for reef but still I am happy with fish only :)
     
  4. Kremis

    Kremis Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    124
    looks nice and clean. perk with going fish only is that you can get not reef safe things :)
     
    SamHa likes this.
  5. ashburn2k

    ashburn2k Webmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    472
    Are those sponges or rock slab in the sump where you grow cheatos?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  6. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    That is true! Still I like the freedom that it give me for medication if something goes wrong like ich!
    Can I still use the Cupramine in the main tank if it is fish only or I have to treat the sick fish in separate tank?
     
  7. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    They are just sponges. I thought maybe it is a good place for bacteria to grow.
     
  8. ashburn2k

    ashburn2k Webmaster

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2016
    Messages:
    2,310
    Likes Received:
    472
    Oh no you don’t want that, replace those with small live rocks or those reef bricks.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
    Coral reefer and SamHa like this.
  9. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    Damn! sure I will take it out soon! Actually I have couple of live rocks there as well that I got from friend.
    I wanted to remove the sponge slowly in case I lose beneficial bacteria!
     
  10. Kremis

    Kremis Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2016
    Messages:
    620
    Likes Received:
    124
    look up hyposalinity, in the display you would want to go that route to treat ich. of course, qt is always better
     
    SamHa likes this.
  11. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    hyposalinity! Nice! I watched a video and loved the idea!
     
  12. roostertech

    roostertech reef noob

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,445
    Likes Received:
    463
    +1 on hypo. Don't run copper in DT in case you want to go reef later.

    Sent from my SM-G930P using Tapatalk
     
    SamHa likes this.
  13. Coral reefer

    Coral reefer President

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    7,856
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    I wouldn't worry about copper. But I believe puffers are not good w copper
     
    SamHa likes this.
  14. SamHa

    SamHa Guest

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2017
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    9
    Yeah I think hyposalinity is the best way!
     

Share This Page