Neptune Aquatics

Noob nutrient question

So I'm new to this hobby, and im loving it, but there is still a lot I don't understand. I have a 10 gallon reef tank, it's 1.5 months old. I added bacteria and fed fish food to begin the cycle. I did a large water change ~the 12th in when nitrites were on the decline, and added 2 small clownfish and stocked some corals. I knew I rushed things too quickly, so I monitored my levels. About 4 days ago, ammonia was <.25ppm, nitrite was maybe ~8ppm, and nitrate was ~120ppm. I did about a 30% water change. I was thinking about buying chaeto to help with nutrient export, but I checked my levels and everything was 0! I thought that nitrates slowly built up, and we're exported through water changes for the most part. I have mainly soft corals, which I read Xenia can take up some nitrates. Is this normal?

Also, I have just a small amount of algae growth. Just some green algae on live rock, with some algae on the glass every morning. Oh, and I have about 8 lbs live rock

From 120 to 0 with a 30% change is pretty much impossible. Make sure you are following the instructions on the test kit exactly. Something isn't right.

Xenia does uptake some nutrients and bind it up. It's not removed from the system until you physically remove the xenia, but that would take a lot of xenia to do so.

Slow down and retest your water.

Just tested my parameters again. 0 across the board, aside from ammonia. I shook my bottles, dripped them in the tubes, and waited 5 minutes. These expire in 4 years. Can anything makes these droppers go bad somehow?