Cali Kid Corals

Problem with Radium Bulb Inside Sunpod

99sf

I have been using a 30" Sunpod on my 29 gallon open top tank at the office for about 18 months. Previously, it had 150 w DE Ushio bulbs, which worked OK. Since everyone raves about the 20K Radium bulbs, I installed one about a week ago in the Sunpod. Today, the bulb has shut off mysteriously a few times in less than two hours. I don't think this is a normal part of the bulb "burn-in" process. Can anyone suggest a solution to my problem?

Is the ballast a "HGI" or one that can actually drive a Radium? Not all ballasts can.

Gresham, I looked inside the fan opening on the Sunpod, and the sticker says the ballast is Electronic HID, 150-watt M81 M142. Is that the same as HGI? I am not a MH expert!

Christina the Sunpods are easy to open and check full specs on the ballast; perhaps a ballast swap for an Icecap/Hatch but if you were happy with a different bulb then ditch the Radium?

Sadly, Sunpods and Radiums do not work well together. The electronic ballast that is in the Sunpod is unable to consistently ignite and drive the Radium, which is specified to require an HQI ballast (as Gresham pointed out).

Most people on Reef Central find that it works for a little bit (less than two months), then never fires again.

Unfortunately, the only options are to swap out ballasts for a heavier HQI one, or go for another bulb. If you are interested, I do have an older Phoenix 14K 150W bulb you can try out on your setup to see if you like the color before you decide to buy a new one.

That's odd, the M81 is an HQI ballast along with the M142, but the label says electronic ballast, yet labels it with two different pulse start ballasts.... My head hurts....

I recall seeing this thread on Reefcentral - "150w radiums are not designed to run on anything but a a magnetic pulse start ballast rated for 150w HQI bulbs. (ANSI M81 spec ballast)."