Neptune Aquatics

Question about lighting, moving corals to a new tank, etc.

Bruce Spiegelman

Sponsorship, Public Relations
BOD
I just picked up an Innovative Marine SR120 and am in the process of getting it up and running. I have a couple questions about lighting.

First, the previous owner had it set-up as a FOWLR and had an inexpensive 72" Beamworks LED strip on it. It's got a couple hundred 1 watt blue and white LEDs on it and has a decent timer on it. I realize this is not a light to be used on a mixed reef tank, but can it be used for "after-hours" viewing without harm. I am a writer and work from home so I tend to leave my tank lights on too long and have some algae problems because of it. Is it workable and reasonable to run my normal lighting (Kessils) for a normal period (8 hours ish) and then use this weal strip to enjoy the tank while I'm working? Will a bunch of one watt LEDs still cause an algae issue if run longer? What about just the blue?

Second, I currently have two Kessil 350's and I know I will need one to two more. So this is an informal poll. Can I go with just one more 350 or 360 or do I need two more or a total of four? Mixed reef. Not much SPS though.

As to moving corals -- most are attached to large rocks. Should I take them off and re-dip corals before putting them in the new tank? Acclimate whole rocks without treating?

Last edited:
1) I have two kessils over my 40 breeder. I want to say their effective footprint of the kessil350/360 is about 20-inch by 20-inch

Anything beyond 22-inch is gonna get shadowed. My tank is 36-inches long so there's overlapping light in the middle, where i keep my sps. I don't know anything about programming/developing LED light fixtures so I can't say anything about that subject. Reef tanks should have a dark period in my opinion.

2) What are the dimensions of this tank? Need that to answer question #2