Cali Kid Corals

Seismic considerations for aquarium?

So being that I didn't grow up here I'm new to earthquakes.

Does anyone do anything special to help prepare their tank for an earthquake?

Should I bolt the stand to the wall so it doesn't topple or move? What about the tank sliding off the stand?

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

Okay seems securing the tank is a good idea. Haha.

Interesting though, the way they built those stands almost doomed the unsecured tank. The legs were secured to the ground and the leds were attached to the side of the stand along the axis of motion. The tank never actually appeared to slide off the stand, but instead the stand appeared to fail where the legs attach to the top.

The stand for my tank seems especially well constructed out of solid plywood so I don't think it'll fold over like that.

My thought was to secure the back of the stand to a wall stud, and then to add some brackets to prevent it from sliding off the stand.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk

I posted this some time back. Worth showing again considering how many quakes are in the news lately.