Spectrapure Group Buy part 5 -

Discussion in 'Group Buys' started by Raddogz, Feb 28, 2008.

  1. nukeproof

    nukeproof Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2004
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have to say Litermeter III was one of the best investment I made. I've been using it for over 4 years with no problem. I have to change the tube out when I used it with my kalk reactor but with just H2O, the tube doesn't get as brittle.
     
  2. tonggao

    tonggao Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2006
    Messages:
    633
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used a Litermeter III with two extra motors(total of 3 pumps) without any problem for the last one and half a year, even though I hated the initial amount of $$$ I have to pay :D.
     
  3. Raddogz

    Raddogz Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Tom - what ro/di stages do you have now?
     
  4. Apon

    Apon Volunteer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,831
    Likes Received:
    206
    Tom, you can call spectrapure and ask them, they are pretty helpful.
     
  5. northbay-reefer

    northbay-reefer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eileen I have two of them in series, with one waste line feeding into the other to cut back on the waste and then dual DI at the end.

    Arnold, I check their website and it looks like the upgrade is just a dual DI filter.
     
  6. Raddogz

    Raddogz Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    3,600
    Likes Received:
    2
    Sorry two of what?

    My ro/di system is setup like this - 100gpd not Spectrapure

    Sediment filter, carbon, carbon, ro membrane, maxcap, and then di.
     
  7. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    [quote author=northbay-reefer link=topic=3205.msg40821#msg40821 date=1208394242]
    Eileen I have two of them in series, with one waste line feeding into the other to cut back on the waste and then dual DI at the end.

    Arnold, I check their website and it looks like the upgrade is just a dual DI filter.
    [/quote]

    Two membranes? The typical use of dual membranes is to feed them both off a T'ed line and have two waste lines.
     
  8. northbay-reefer

    northbay-reefer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    Raddogz, I have two RO membranes, I feed the waste line of the first membranes into the second membrane to reduce waste water.
     
  9. Gomer

    Gomer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,048
    Likes Received:
    1
    Use the waste water to water your plants :)
     
  10. northbay-reefer

    northbay-reefer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2007
    Messages:
    1,146
    Likes Received:
    0
    The waste water line is connected to the drip system, so am doing it :D
     
  11. Gomer

    Gomer Honorary Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2007
    Messages:
    9,048
    Likes Received:
    1
    ...if only we could easily dump our SW waterchange water onto the plants (and not kill them :p)
    I would use the fert enchanced FWplanted tank water for my house plants :D
     
  12. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    No matter your needs don't go lower tehn 90gpd. The waste to product water ratio changes pretty hard below 90gpd. I use a 180gpd and my need is like 2 gallons a day + 20 a week. I like my holding tanks to get filled as quickly as possiable and get the lowest waste water output I can. I may ditch the RO part and go all commercial DI in the long run to save money.
     
  13. LeviT

    LeviT Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone know what included with the 90gpd unit listed in the PDF?
    http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_ViewItem~SearchStr~maxcap~action~view~idProduct~SP1711~idCategory~FIRORDNH~category~SpectraPure_MaxCap_RO_DI_System__90gpd_w__Pressure_Gauge___Purity_Monitor_Saltwater_Aquarium_Supplies_Reverse_Osmosis_RO_DI_90_180_GPD_Units~vendor~.html

    It doesn't sound like it but I can't find anything without the pressure gauges and monitors.
     
  14. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    Edit:

    The one on MD is the same one they are offerring us but at $100 more (MD is 369 and they are offerring us 269) :( the MD 90gpd is a MaxCap from what I can tell.
     
  15. LeviT

    LeviT Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    [quote author=GreshamH link=topic=3205.msg41386#msg41386 date=1208900076]
    No matter your needs don't go lower tehn 90gpd. The waste to product water ratio changes pretty hard below 90gpd. I use a 180gpd and my need is like 2 gallons a day + 20 a week. I like my holding tanks to get filled as quickly as possiable and get the lowest waste water output I can. I may ditch the RO part and go all commercial DI in the long run to save money. [/quote]
    Gesh, you are talking about the water pure... places like Jeremy (tuberider) uses? I pay about 75 cents per gallon for RODI from my LFS and this should pay for itself but if the water from the commercial places are cheaper then maybe there is one in my area.....
     
  16. LeviT

    LeviT Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    3,083
    Likes Received:
    0
    [quote author=GreshamH link=topic=3205.msg41389#msg41389 date=1208900784]
    Edit:

    The one on MD is the same one they are offerring us but at $100 more (MD is 369 and they are offerring us 269) :( the MD 90gpd is a MaxCap from what I can tell.[/quote]
    Thanks! They don't list the details in the pdf so I wasn't sure.
     
  17. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    [quote author=LeviTillie link=topic=3205.msg41390#msg41390 date=1208901014]
    [quote author=GreshamH link=topic=3205.msg41386#msg41386 date=1208900076]
    No matter your needs don't go lower tehn 90gpd. The waste to product water ratio changes pretty hard below 90gpd. I use a 180gpd and my need is like 2 gallons a day + 20 a week. I like my holding tanks to get filled as quickly as possiable and get the lowest waste water output I can. I may ditch the RO part and go all commercial DI in the long run to save money. [/quote]
    Gesh, you are talking about the water pure... places like Jeremy (tuberider) uses? I pay about 75 cents per gallon for RODI from my LFS and this should pay for itself but if the water from the commercial places are cheaper then maybe there is one in my area.....
    [/quote]

    I'm talking about services like Culigan where they install a large filter and come out and recharge it every so often. For most people this his major over kill...you can get decent sized DI's from places like SpectraPure for cheaper but the charges cost more if you are using a lot of water.
     
  18. Vincerama2

    Vincerama2 Evil Overlord

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,823
    Likes Received:
    82
    So I guess no GB ever happened? I've been thinking about a LM3...

    V
     
  19. Apon

    Apon Volunteer

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    4,831
    Likes Received:
    206
    we didn't hit the $500 mark.
     
  20. Elite

    Elite Guest

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,883
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you guy setting up another GB, I need to get a new TDS meter..
     

Share This Page