got ethical husbandry?

Tank Crash. I'm still on vacation. Questions about outlet & electricity.

neuro

Webmaster
Wondering what went wrong with the outlet in my house, and if you have any ideas that would be great, since I'm not an electrician.

Facts & Clues:
1. I had everything hooked up to a UPS (lights, controller, pumps, etc).
1a. I don't remember if I also put my internet & cameras on the same UPS. I don't think I did.
2. I don't have a lot of info on the UPS, just that it does work when I unplug it from the wall and my tank is operating fine.
3. Three days ago I lost internet connection to my controller and my cameras, etc. Power outtage maybe? Neighbors say "no", but I don't trust them since they said they saw my lights on from my fish tank about a day ago.
4. I had my best friend do water changes for the last two weeks. He's quite a knowledgable reefer.
5. The only outlet that does not have power is the outlet my fishtank is hooked up to.
6. Power was out for at least 3 days.
7. All SPS coral have STN/RTN, LPS are gone.
8. The outlet is on it's own circuit (Though, the house is old and I don't know if anything else is on the same circuit).
9. EDIT: I don't know if the outlet is dead/fried, or if the circuit breaker tripped.

I had him check on my tank. He sent back really bad news w/pictures to tell me my tank had a crash.

He also sent everything he did for me:
- He did a 10% water change
- scooped out all my dead fish, which is all my fish.
- Replugged my fishtank power into another outlet in the house that was working.
- I don't know what is still alive or not. When I get back I'll be doing another water change.

Questions:
1. How much water changes and how much from now on?
2. Could the UPS have caused the circuit breaker to trip, assuming there was a power outtage at one point?
3. Should I keep my LED/actinics on only? and leave the MH off until things get better?