High Tide Aquatics

Tank stand center divider in the way for a large sump help

Dan

Looking for opinions on weather or not i should attempt to move a center divider in the middle of my 100 gallon tank stand so i can install a decent sized sump.

The center divider in my opinion doesn't seem to be supporting any weight of the tank. When i push on the divider it has some play in it telling me there isn't much if any weight on it coming from the tank. when i knock on the divider it has a hollow sound to it versus if it had weight sitting on it, would have a more solid/compressed sound. located above the divider i want to remove is a solid wood support running front of the tank to the back witch i believe is the real support preventing the somewhat flimsy divider from taking the support weight.

Since im not a expert stand maker im looking for opinions on weather or not it is safe to go ahead and remove the divider to make room for my sump.

i can always re support the center of the tank once the sump is installed if it turns out the divider supported more than i thought.

sumparea.jpg

U can reenforce corners or make a temp support to one side just wide enough to slide in sump... few ways to do it

The pictures don't telly tell how supportive center is lol

Stand looks like MDF to me, might get sagging over time. However, I would think you'd be fine if you screwed a beam on the underside of the top plate, especially if it also screwed into the sides.

I'm thinking a piece of aluminum angle cut so the the ends had tabs that were bent flat to the sides and screwed in. Might be smart to dab a bit of silicone on each screw as well to help avoid swelling if you ever drip. You could paint it black and you'd barely see it.

My biggest worry would be the chance of overtightening the screws, which would be really easy to do in that thin, fragile mdf.