Cali Kid Corals

Using Canon 420EX off camera

Is there a way to discharge the flash from a means other than having it mounted to the hotshoe on my Canon 40D? I have a Canon 420EX Speedlight.
I did see this online:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002B8ZYPK/ref=s9_simh_gw_p23_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=09FFGZMQF45A66BWNW9M&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

I don't think I like the idea of being bound by a cord to the flash though ... and if I did use it, I'd have to hold my camera (and shoot) with one hand, while the other hand holds the flash. I could have the flash mounted onto a tripod, but I wouldn't be able to move too far with that cord attaching the flash to the camera.

Is there anything I can use that will wirelessly connect my camera to the flash that I can get that won't cost an arm and a leg?

I am very new to this entire strobist thing, if you want to call it that. I know having more flashes will yield more options, but flashes aren't cheap, and I am willing to use what I have (Canon 40D, and Canon 420EX) for the time being just to learn.
I'm wanting to be able to use it when taking portraits of people.

Thanks!

Off camera wireless, not too many options really...

Canon ST-E2:
http://tinyurl.com/8fjoqc

Or go pocket wizard.

Thanks Eric, that pocket wizard looks kinda cool :)

How do people normally use flashes when using a device like this:
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002B8ZYPK/ref=s9_simh_gw_p23_i1?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=09FFGZMQF45A66BWNW9M&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=470938631&pf_rd_i=507846

Do they normally just deal with being tethered to the a tripod?

Pocketwizards are pretty ubiquitous when it comes to master/slave triggers.

Easiest way to use that cord would be to use a bracket of some sort. Take a look at the RRS brackets for one. The other way is to shoot it tethered. You place the camera on the tripod, tether the flash to above the tank or hold it, and snap away.