Our mission

Vento 90Gal build from new

Hi all,

Well I jumped in head first into reefing. SW is just so much more interesting than FW was. I'm pretty new to all this so please bare with me. Suggestions are always welcome.

But here is my equipment specs:
Oceanic Tech series 90Gal tank and stand.
Coralife Lunar Aqualight Compact Fluorescent Fixture, 4X65 Watt, 48 inch
35gal Acrylic sump
(2) Hydro Koralia 4 powerhead
Rio hyperflow 20HF return pump.
Visi-therm stealth heater 200W

And some pics. Comments on the aquascaping please.
PC040229.jpg

PC040234.jpg

Well if that is the same tank I have seen before it is L 48.5 x W 18.5 x H 25, if this is the same tank you might want to consider a lighting upgrade as Compact Fluorescent 4X65 Watt won't allow you to grow much in terms of corals. I assume your tank is RR (reef ready) as you stated you had a sump (I couldn't really tell from the pics) which is a good thing.

Most important lession I learned was Only bad things happen fast in this hobby, so take your time and do lots and lots of reading

Let us know what you're planning to keep? LPS, SPS, Softies, Some Mix... Looks like you have about a 35 times turnover rate on your flow right now. You can do much with that. If you plan on doing SPS you may consider a third Hydor 4 to get you up around 50 times turnover and give you some more assistance in suspending ditritus. Looks like you need to be on a hunt for a skimmer as well. Just keep asking questions. You should get some good feedback here on BAR.

I know my lighting doesn't support SPS. I was thinking of just keeping Soft and maybe LPS.

As far as my protein skimmer goes I had one that just wouldn't skim, I ended up returning it and am getting a new one soon.

Should I get something like a wave maker to get different flows through the tank?

I was actually thinking of getting an Aquacontroller Jr. for lighting and flow control.