Vortech Short Pulse

Discussion in 'Equipment' started by A_Lee, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. A_Lee

    A_Lee Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    In the Vortech manual Ecotech warns against using short pulse mode with tanks , as the waves may cause "additional stress on the aquariums glass and joints ... blah blah, failure can result..."
    I have a standard AGA 20H. I am not making huge waves at all. Maybe 1/4" (not even)? I am not making those huge sloshing waves in their youtube videos.
    I would love to use short pulse mode ... but not if it means my tank busting.
    Thoughts?

    edit -also, how come more people don't use short pulse mode? It's cool to see things sway back and forth :)

    /edit
     
  2. r0ck0

    r0ck0 Guest

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2010
    Messages:
    518
    Likes Received:
    0
    doubtful. Maybe if the tank was already weak it would break or the tank was half full and you had a 6" wave. I use short pulse in my rimless 17gal ADA tank, no explosions... yet.
     
  3. A_Lee

    A_Lee Guest

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    2,239
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hm, thanks. I will have to assume that my tank isn't already weak. It is second hand, but appeared to be in pretty good shape when I filled it up and set up the tank.
     
  4. sfsuphysics

    sfsuphysics Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2005
    Messages:
    12,834
    Likes Received:
    1,024
    AFAIK that's Vortech's standard disclaimer so you can't turn around and sue them for your tank breaking considering that whole wave action is sort of what they were selling their product on.

    It should be ok, especially if you get very little actual wave action going, Smaller tanks more than likely are going to be stronger on the joints per volume of water simply because silicone sticking to glass is going to have a particular tensile strength regardless of how much water is pushing against it.

    Also if it makes you feel better I have never been able to get a wave going with my vortechs, but I do get the pulsing action :D
     
  5. screebo

    screebo Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    10
    I cycle through pulse and the all other Vortec modes every day but my glass is 1/2 " thick. Pulse is my default mode and I do alternate between sync and anti-sync mode as well.
     
  6. kinetic

    kinetic Webmaster

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2007
    Messages:
    3,161
    Likes Received:
    205
    there was a huge discussion about this on ReefCentral at some point. In the end, people just said it was just to cover vortech's own butts.

    I used to run short pulse, but the ramp up noise was a little annoying and the motors ran a little hot.

    Now I only run short pulse to show off to people, then back to reef crest. ;)
     
  7. Thales

    Thales Past President

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    4,444
    Likes Received:
    43
    The breakage is a possibility, but a small one. I run an mp 10 on a 20 gallon with a 1 inch wave. No worries. :D
     
  8. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    Standard glass 20g though, right? Not rimless?
     
  9. newhobby

    newhobby Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    19
    I use it on my BC29
     
  10. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    MP10?

    A friend of mine is wondering how they work with BC29s
     
  11. newhobby

    newhobby Guest

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Likes Received:
    19
    yeah... i got me one of those with W but I think 2 MP10 would be overkill on BC29... lol
    I have to run it at 50%.... Anything over that will blast and spread my sand all over the place.
    On short bursts it can handle about 80 to 90% without disturbing much the sand.
     
  12. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    I was thinking a lone MP10. Or just modify the back (cut hole) to allow a smaller Hydor to fit in. The tank is viewable from all three sides so I think the mod would be the best in terms of sightlyness (sp? even a word??)
     
  13. tuberider

    tuberider Guest

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    9,050
    Likes Received:
    4

    How about a dry box for the MP10?
     
  14. GreshamH

    GreshamH Guest

    Very doable. This guy can machine or mold what ever he wants so it could be a very clean set-up. Not usre of how much space is in the filtration cavity on them, nor do I know how much room is needed for the dryside of a MP10. I know who to email on both those questions though :D
     

Share This Page