Neptune Aquatics

80/20 Stand - can it hold 120g with no front middle brace?

Hello BAR,

I think the title of this post sums it up pretty well.... I'm a biologist, not an engineer, so I have no experience with this. I want to build a stand for my 120g (6' x 21" x 21" roughly...), and I would like to have no vertical brace in the front middle to disrupt access to the sump et al. I think the tank should end up weighing, what, 1500 - 2000 lbs?

Anyone with experience in 80/20 who has an idea of the weight bearing capacity of these for stand design?

Thanks!
-Bryan

Yes it does, but I was referring to the original post. And yes even with the calculator you do need to take into account how large you're willing to go to bypass a center brace. I looked at some 1" x 2" material (it was what I saw was available at Grainger) for a 36" long stand, and the deflection was less than 2mm which I would think would be acceptable, but who knows.

I looked into this when I was researching stands for the 190. I spec'd 2x4 (maybe it was 1x4) and deflection was very little as well.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Thanks for the point to the calculator. I have a follow-up question if people are familiar with this problem:

Using 2040 (fractional, effectively a 2x4), it looks like a 72" run supporting 2500 lbs has different deflections when using either fixed two ends or supported two ends. I'm assuming I should be looking at the fixed two ends (the ends of the 72" run will be attached to something, namely the rest of the frame) and 'load evenly distributed.' With this configuration, I see a 1.73mm deflection using the 80/20 in the 'vertical' configuration and ~5.8mm deflection with it in the 'horizontal.' My question is, related to sfsuphysics comment above, how much deflection downwards is too much deflection?