Cali Kid Corals

Building a stand for my 210G tank

Will this be able to support a 210G tank (54x30x30)?
33_26_03_07_10_23_01.JPG

Sorry I'm not good with 3D drawing :D .. What you see is from the front. I will add corner brackets for the top. I don't want the center brace. I was thinking about using 4x6 but that would be way over kill and make the stand very heavy. What you guy think?

When you say you don't want a center brace, do you mean in the front, or on the top (crossbraces)?

I think if you want to not have any legs in the middle, it might be sturdier to laminate two 2x6's together, like a header. Or even two 2x4's laminated together - from what I've read, that would be sturdier and less prone to twist than a 4x4.

54"?
I think 4x4 is enough.
and 2x6 would look "tall" in that mid section.
(FYI, a 2x4 is 1 1/2 inches by 3 1/2, makes a slight difference in your drawing)

I don't want the middle leg or center brace ;D ..

I was thinking about using 2x6 but you don't think that's way over kill??

Cits, yeah I know. even the 4x4 is not really 4x4 ???

Hmmm....
I would think 2 2x4's would be ok.
But, I'm going to call a friend tommorow. He's a cabinet maker.
He might have a better clue. ( I'm curious now)

I found this on RC. The dimensions of the tank is almost the same as my tank. Man if I have to build a wood stand like this, I think I will look into metal stand.

2007_0325Image0020.jpg

That seems like overkill - is that all 2x6's? Are you planning on skinning yours in plywood? If so, you won't need anything nearly that beefy.

Here's the stand we built for our 180 - I didn't double up on the 2x6s on the top frame, but I opted to have two 2x4 legs in the center.

123_27_03_07_1_28_47.jpg

Finished stand in wall, with the 1/2" plywood backing ready to be screwed in place:

123_27_03_07_1_29_17.jpg