Cali Kid Corals

EnderTurtle's 40 gallon breeder LPS

Introduction

Ok so apologies but this is a tank journal that starts halfway through the journey but I'll give you a little history.

I have been reefing since January 2014. After spending about 1 week learning about saltwater reef tanks, I purchased a 40 gallon breeder acrylic set up that had been badly infested with almost all the pest species. Heres a list of what infested the tank:

Hair Algae, Bryopsis, green bubble algae, red bubble algae, aiptasia, ich. The guy's tank crashed and was selling his tank, sump, stand, and corals for 200$ I just had to drive 3 hours north to break it down and take it away.

Came with a 30 head frogspawn, armor of god palys, and a 30 head candy cane. Sold all corals for 140$ store credit.

This is what the craigslist ad picture looked like.

old tank picture.jpg

Long story short I bleached the tank and live rock and cured for 2 months. Rocks were also cured using Phosfree. A phosphate binder. Having a heater and powerhead really sped up the process.

Full Tank Shot (10/24/2015
IMG_1013.jpg

Left Side of Tank (10/22/2015)
IMG_0997.jpg

Right Side of Tank (10/22/2015)
IMG_0998.jpg

Overview Picture (6/24/2014)

HaF3e0r.jpg

Left Side of Tank (6/24/2014)

SofN69m.jpg

Right Side of Tank (6/24/2014)
J5fE1qG.jpg

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Equipment:
  • Two Kessil 360WE LED Lights
  • Two Jebao WP-10 Wavemakers (One on Else Mode and One on Wave Mode)
  • Herbie Style Overflow
  • 20 Gallon Tall Glass Tank Sump
  • Reef Octopus NWB 110 Protein Skimmer
  • Refugium with Chaeto and 2lb Rock
  • JBJ ATO
  • Currently Dosing 2-Part and Tech M Magnesium
Clean Up Crew
  • 3 Blackfoot Trochus Snails
  • 1 Astrea Snail
  • 3 Mexican Turbo Snail
  • ~16 Blue-legged Hermit Crabs
  • 2 Stomatella Snails
  • 1 Fighting Conch
  • 2 Nassarius Snails Big
  • 2 Nassarius Snails Small (MIA for a while)
Fish