Jestersix

Glenn's Red Sea Max S 500

ghermes

Supporting Member
I am new to the hobby and this is my first salt water tank. I purchased my Red Sea Max S 500 on September 25th, 2020. While waiting for its arrival, I started building my RODI water supply system.

I had several issues with delivery of the tank. First delivery, the stand and trim came in white, although I had ordered black. RS quickly sent the black stand and tank trim, but the stand doors came in damaged. Next order finally came in correct color and in good condition.

I am happy with my RODI water system. It is located in my garage. I have a BRS, 5 stage, 150 gal/day system with a booster pump that allows me to generate about 6 gals/hr of RODI water. The storage/mixing system consists of two 32 gal Roughneck garbage cans with site tubes calibrated in 5 gal increments. I have one Pan World 50PX pump and the valves are arranged to allow me to use the same pump to draw and discharge tank water, transfer from RODI tank to mixing tank and to pump either RODI or saltwater to my tank. The whole thing sits on a stand with rollers that I built. I do have to stretch a hose from the garage through the house to my tank to do the water transfers. I have to fill my tank top off twice per week and I do 15gal water changes every week.

RODI System Overview.jpg

RODI Filters.jpg

I am running a mixed reef tank.

Current parameters as of 4/9/21
Salinity 34 PPT
DKH 8.6
Ca 484
Mg 1283
NO3 4
PO4 0.2
PH 7.8
Temp 78 deg
PAR, ~350 at top of rock, ~200 on substrate