Kessil

Hi Reefers

Hi Bay Area Reefers,
I am new to this hobby. I got my 14 year old son a 15 gallon tank for Christmas and before you know it, I was spending all my money on it and became addicted. I recently upgraded to a 45 G tank about 1 week ago. I have managed to keep all water parameters good since January (original tank set up) but haven’t really seen any growth to my corals. I just bought a fancy new light - Ai 16 HD Prime.

Any suggestion on how to help my corals grow and any spectrum settings you recommend for my tank are appreciated. I have attached a photo but I have the lights dimming for the evening so everything is starting to close up. I do think everyone is happy in the tank. In addition to my corals I have 2 nano clownfish, a pistol shrimp with a goby buddy, a super cute shrimp (not sure what type, red with white dots on his back), emerald crab, and other clean up crew friends.

I am excited to now be apart of this group.

Thank you!

Catalina

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    57.5 KB · Views: 132
Welcome to the club!

For setting suggestions for the AI prime, I'd recommend the presets that Aquaillumination provides, found here: https://www.aquaillumination.com/lightsciences/signature-series . When I had that light set up over my IM Nuvo 20, I really liked the Saxby setting. I would ask what the dimensions on the tank are - the maximum coverage for an AI Prime 16HD is ~24x24", and you'll still get some shading at the edges. You may also want to take some PAR (photosynthetically active radiation) measurements, to make sure you're in the ballpark (and, if you become a supporting member, you're able to borrow one of the club's PAR meters after two months).

For what it's worth, when I had my light set up, it was ~9" over the tank and run at 65% intensity with the Saxby settings, and I was getting ~300 PAR an inch or so under the surface right underneath the light.