Jestersix

Marc's 33g Oceanic Cube Tank

Marc

Hello All!

I'm new to the SW side and though I would start a journal to record my progress and maybe ask some questions to the more experienced members here.

So I have a 33 gal tank that I'm going to convert to SW. I also have 150w MH pendant that I think will work nicely over the tank. Ian recommended I get a Phoenix Bulb for it.

Skimmer and Sump Question - Ive heard I can get by with a "good" HOB skimmer...something like a Deltec. My question is - should I just go with a sump? Equipment is not cheap so I'd rather do it right from the start to avoid spending more money finding out later that a sump would have been the better way to go. I would imagine that a sump is a good way to get equipment out of the tank but what other useful purpose does it serve? Biological filtration?

Substrate - I really like the look of a bare bottom tank. Pros and Cons?

I'll post up pictures of the tank these next few days...

PS - Whats a good paint to use to paint the back ground?

Hey Marc... I have the life Reef Sump and Skimmer setup that I am selling. If you are interest in it I'll give you a good friend discount :) Here are some information: http://www.lifereef.com/frame.html.

The sump size is 24" x 13" x 14". It comes with skimmer (Lifereef VS2-24). It has holder for Ph probe, media cylinders (this setup will come with a custom three media cylinders... The Skimmer pump is the quietOne 3000.--

If you are ready for rock I have some for you but you need to setup that tank up soon before all of the good rocks are gone.

Krylon fusion for the background, Marc.

You can find it in the spray section at Walmart (pretty sure it's exclusive to them; haven't seen them elsewhere).