Kessil

New to the club!

brleong

Supporting Member
Hello all!

I just wanted to say hi to you all. I just found out about this club last week and hopped on as soon as I could. I've had my 55g tank up for about 1 year now. I've had freshwater tanks my whole life, but this is my first salt tank and I'm still learning a bunch! A little about myself: I'm an engineer. I love to build things! and this is clearly shown when seeing my tank. I've built my own LED system, biopellet and GFO reactors so far. I hope to build a full aquarium controller and sump in the near future!

I've attached a picture of my tank. It's changed some since this picture. This was right after i installed my LED system and I've added more corals since.

I look forward to meeting you all soon and learning from you experienced reefers!

Attachments

• photo.JPG
    photo.JPG
    138.8 KB · Views: 271
Thanks everyone!

Yep that's an AC above the tank but it is never used. At one point last summer I used the fan function on it to cool the tank by ducting air across the top of it to get evaporative cooling.

I think it's just wood painted black?

Those are multi-chip's right? Which ones / how many watts? How's the growth with them ?

The black thing is a wooden black shelf from OSH. Fit perfectly for what I needed and was cheap and easy to work with.

Yep they are multichip LED's. Both are 100 watt lEDs off eBay. 40 10k/60 royal blue ~445nm. I'm getting excellent growth with them. Had them about 1 month so far. Had three new zoa polyps the first week and it's grown exponentially since. Each of those new polyps have a few new ones sprouting up each week. My torch coral is starting to branch a second head. Really pissed off my toadstool leather though and got some bleaching since the lights are so strong. I had to move that to the bottom in a shady spot.